A Queer Situation

by ethankilgore

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9 persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. 11 For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. – 2 Corinthians 4: 7-11

Recently at Gordon College there have been quite a few discussions regarding the college’s stance on homosexuality. A few weeks ago an e-mail was sent out informing students of a new practice (the school emphasized that it is not a “policy”, though I’m not sure what the difference entails) which prohibited campus-wide programmed discussion of the topic outside of one week of the year. Most surprisingly to me, this included the ban on student-run groups and clubs talking about it, as well. What it doesn’t mean is that we aren’t allowed to discuss it in class – this is still allowed.

Some people are very upset about the e-mail, others don’t think it is a big deal, and me – well I don’t really know. I’m just happy we’re finally talking about it. Its funny given the fact that what started the conversation in the first place was the administration informing us of a practice that was supposed to minimize discussion. To be fair – the e-mail was worded in such a manner I’m not entirely sure what the new “practice” even means, so I can give no definitive information regarding it. I would recommend calling the school if you wanted to know more details.

I hate arguments about sexuality. I love discussions about sexuality. What I think people often times forget is that there is so much to learn about sexuality that is not even tied to the morality of it! It is a topic so complex and rich that you couldn’t even scratch the surface in an hour long conversation. Heck – I’m gay and I still have so much to learn about the topic. What I do know is that my situation right now is nothing like it’ll be in two years. I chose to go to a Christian college full well knowing that it might be difficult for me sometimes, but I wanted to be able to have these discussions because I know that I’ll never have an opportunity like this again. When I am not at college I am much less aware that being gay separates me from certain people, when I am at Gordon I am more acutely aware of this – but that isn’t always a bad thing. Being one of the few openly gay people are my school has opened up some great opportunities for me to dialogue with my peers, but I would be lying if I said it doesn’t wear me down sometimes.

Most of the time I love my college – I really do. That is something I learn more and more every week. I am so lucky to go to a school that allows for the opportunity to really get to know your professors on a personal level – it has helped both academically and spiritually. I often take it for granted. In fact, when I was first coming out to the school, it was a professor who I went to when I needed someone to listen. Truly a blessing.

So don’t get me wrong – I have no bones to pick with anyone – I am just doing what I love, which is discussing something very very important to me. The e-mail confused me, but without confusion clarity just isn’t as rewarding.

On another note: I apologize for not keeping my blog more updated. I definitely over committed this semester – but better doing too much than doing too little, am I right?

Thanks for reading,

Ethan Kilgore

